DL TEACHING EXPERIENCE
It’s not too long ago that Richard Coleman Douglas called me a LIAR when I said that I had been teaching by distance learning for 37 years. It will in fact be 40-years in September 2008!
For close to 24 years I worked on-campus for The Open Polytechnic of NZ as a Tutor, mainly in the mechanical engineering distance learning arena, having qualified in the UK as an engineering designer before emigrating to New Zealand.
In 1986 the Principal of TOPNZ, who just happened to be a shooting sports person, suggested that the time was right to introduce some non-vocational distance learning course – courses that would be of benefit to the country.
So, I suggested that TOPNZ should introduce a distance learning course in Firearms Safety. The Principal liked the idea and stated that if I could gain support from the NZ Mountain Safety Council and Police National HQ he would approve the course preparation. This was not difficult as at that time I was a member of the NZ Mountain safety Council’s FIREARMS SAFETY COMMITTEE and there were two senior HQ police officers on this committee!
The NZ Arms Act was drastically re-written in 1983 and required that everyone wanting a firearms licence must take a course of study, pass a test and then be considered as a FIT & PROPER PERSON to have a firearms licence.
So, I wrote the five module course covering:
FIREARMS LAW & SAFETY
TYPES OF FIREARMS USED IN NEW ZEALAND
FIREARM USAGE IN NEW ZEALAND
RELOADING RIFLE AND PISTOL AMMUNITION
RELOADING SHOTGUN AMMUNITION
The course was launched in 1987 as the first non-vocational course ever offered by the Technical Correspondence Institute.
Very rapidly successful completion of the course gained approval for the study and test requirements of the Arms Act, and today remains the only other means of complying with the Arms Act. The other method requires applicants to complete a NZ Mountain Safety Council lecture – and pass the NZMC examination.